United Way of Westchester and Putnum

Search for Help



Sign Up for News

The Ruth Taylor Scholarship Awards

United Way is proud to work with the Westchester County Department of Social Services and the Urban League to offer the Ruth Taylor Scholarship Awards to aspiring public service professionals.

The application for the 2019-2020 scholarship can be downloaded below. The deadline for all materials to be submitted is Friday, June 14, 2019. Scholarships are awarded for the fall semester. Eligible individuals must be residents of Westchester County pursuing graduate level education on a full-time basis at accredited U.S. colleges or schools in social welfare or public health. Criteria used in evaluating applications are public service, financial need, and scholastic capacity.


Download Cover Letter (Word Document)
Download Application (Word Document)

Did you know that since the 2008-2009 academic year, over $125,000 in Ruth Taylor scholarships has been awarded to 44 students from Westchester?

For more information contact: Doris Perez at 914 997-6700 x738 

In partnership with:

ruth taylor

Westchester County Logo 2014

Description: TopChefSleepyHollow Toms (17).jpg

Ruth Taylor Scholarship Award committee members with the Commissioner: From left, Sharon Thomas, Director, Harm Reduction Program, Urban League of Westchester County; Sorraya Sampson, President and CEO, Urban League of Westchester County; Kevin McGuire, Commissioner, Westchester County DSS; John Befus, Deputy Commissioner, Westchester County DSS; Alana Sweeny, President and CEO, United Way of Westchester and Putnam.

The Ruth Taylor Award Fund Committee is pleased to announce the scholarship winners for the 2018-19 academic year: Elisha Simpson of Croton on Hudson; Elizabeth Verrastro of Port Chester.


  • youtube
  • twitter
  • facebook
  • linkedin